Celebrating the 50th Class to Graduate from Cardinal O'Hara High School

Graduation ceremonies for Cardinal O’Hara High School’s class of 2016 were held on June 7 and 8.
270 graduating seniors and their families gathered at the Cathedral Basilica of Ss Peter and Paul in Philadelphia on the evening of June 7 for their Baccalaureate Mass.
Rev. John Masson presided over the Mass and was joined by 14 priests representing our feeder parishes. Members of O’Hara’s band and the entire choir provided the music making the last Mass celebrated by the class of 2016 one they would never forget.

The next day graduates entered Villanova University’s Pavilion holding umbrellas but the weather didn’t dampen their spirits. There were plenty of smiles and lots of excitement as the class lined up to process for O’Hara’s 50th Commencement. And lined up right behind them were members of the class of 1966, O’Hara’s first graduating class, who gathered for a reunion prior to the ceremony.
The Most Reverend Bishop Michael Fitzgerald presided over the commencement ceremonies.
Salutatorian Carolyn Andruszko was the first to speak. She looked back on four years with nostalgia highlighting events from each year that represented the pride, excellence and tradition of O’Hara.  “The memories we have made here are invaluable because of the pride we have in O’Hara, the excellence we experienced here every day and the tradition of the O’Hara family that will live on in our hearts forever.”
A number of awards were given out (see below) before the conferral of diplomas by Mrs. Kelly Lanza and Mrs. Denise Donofrio. Then Valedictorian Molly Culbert admitted the future may be terrifying and offered this advice: “Don’t stress.”
 “This is the time for us to try new things, meet new people and find our true passions in life,” Culbert said. “Over these next few years, we need to be brave, to step out of our comfort zone and to not be afraid of making mistakes. If we put our faith and total trust in God, He will guide us… and we can conquer anything.”
The class of 2016 earned $15.9 million in scholarships. 96% of the class will continue their education at one of 47 colleges and universities across 19 states.

Theology: Christina Wallace
Honorable Mention: Philip Boyle, Kelley Methven, Sean Noonan
English: Kevin Brown
Honorable Mention: Molly Culbert, Matthew Hewes, Colette Nolan,
Rachel Sweeney
Mathematics: Richard Hayburn
Honorable Mention: Molly Culbert, Robert Morro, Christina Wallace,
Rui Yin
Science: Alvin Eburuoh
Honorable Mention: Carolyn Andruszko, Molly Culbert, Richard Hayburn,
Robert Morro
Nicholas Lattari Medal for Excellence in History: Jacqueline Rooney
Honorable Mention: Juliet McCann, Rachel Sweeney, Dazjah Washington
World Language: Bryan Carapucci
Honorable Mention: Kelly Clark, Colette Nolan, Jacqueline Rooney,
Allison Spaeder, Rachel Sweeney
Business/Technology: Melissa O'Neill
Honorable Mention: Kierra Karpovich, Alec Kerr, Cyrena Murray,
Austin Volk
Art: Hanna Blewett
Honorable Mention: Christopher Clark, Alexandra Lee, Isabella Mirarchi,
DenNira Whitley
Music: Caroline D'Amico
Honorable Mention: Elizabeth Bradley, Emmanuel Espino, Patrick Reilly
Vocal Music: Kayla Ricker
Honorable Mention: Jeremy Fratoni, Adam Landolfi, Colette Scorzetti
General Excellence: Molly Culbert, Carolyn Andruszko,
Honorable Mention: Nicole Bergamo, Robert Morro, Jacqueline Rooney, Patrick Schmucker, Aine Sheehan, Rachel Sweeney, Christina Wallace
Scholar Athlete: Aine Sheehan
Honorable Mention: Robert Morro
Service to the School: Philip Boyle, John Chrostek, Jeremy Fratoni, Erick Goldsmith, Judith Hasty, Sean Noonan, Jacqueline Rooney, Daniel Sansone, Patrick Schmucker, Margaret Mary Welsh
Heart of the Lion: Philip Boyle, Molly Culbert, Alec Funchion, Adam Landolfi, Sean Noonan, Jacqueline Rooney, James Tulskie, Jennifer West
Community Service Corps: Carolyn Andruszko, Laura Onimus
John Paul/ Defender of Life: Taylor Ravert
Student Council: Joseph DeRita, Patrick Schmucker, Sean Noonan, Devon Cottman, Margaret Mary Welsh, Stephen Finore
National Honor Society: Christina Wallace, Aine Sheehan, Carolyn Andruszko, Rachel Sweeney
Alumni Loyalty Award: Jeremy Fratoni, Jacqueline Rooney

Cardinal O’Hara High School